## **FINAL APPROVED**

## ADVISORY BOARD ON POLYSOMNOGRAPHIC TECHNOLOGY Minutes February 2, 2018

The Advisory Board on Polysomnographic Technology met on Friday, February 2, 2018 at 1:00 p.m. at the Department of Health Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Henrico, Virginia.

MEMBERS PRESENT:	Jonathan Clark, RPSGT, Chair Debbie Akers, RPSGT, Vice-Chair Anna Rodriquez, RPSGT Robert Vorona, M.D. Marie Quinn, Citizen Member
MEMBERS ABSENT:	None
STAFF PRESENT:	William L. Harp M.D., Executive Director Alan Heaberlin, Deputy Director for Licensure Colanthia Morton, Operations Manager Denise Mason, Licensing Specialist
<b>GUESTS PRESENT:</b>	None

## CALL TO ORDER

Jonathan Clark called the meeting to order at 1:06 p.m.

#### **EMERGENCY EGRESS PROCEDURES**

Alan Heaberlin announced the Emergency Egress Procedures.

## **ROLL CALL**

Denise Mason called the roll; a quorum was declared.

#### **APPROVAL OF MINUTES FROM JUNE 9, 2017**

Jonathan Clark moved to adopt the minutes. The motion was seconded and carried.

## **ADOPTION OF AGENDA**

Debbie Akers moved to adopt the agenda. The motion was seconded and carried.

# **FINAL APPROVED**

## PUBLIC COMMENT ON AGENDA ITEMS

None

## **NEW BUSINESS**

## 1. Legislative Report

Dr. Harp provided a legislative update for the 2018 Session of the General Assembly. No action was required.

## ANNOUNCEMENTS

Dr. Bob Vorona thanked Alan Heaberlin for speaking at the Annual Meeting of the Virginia Academy of Sleep Medicine on November 3, 2017 in Richmond. Dr. Vorona also announced that this was his last Advisory Board meeting. He said he had enjoyed working with his colleagues on the Advisory and also with Board staff.

Alan Heaberlin announced that there are currently 461 licensed Polysomnographic Technologists in Virginia. During FY2018, the Board has licensed 21 Polysomnographic Technologists.

Colanthia Opher pointed out to the members that their terms will end on June 30, 2018, and if interested in reappointment, they must submit online applications by March 15, 2018.

Dr. Harp informed the Advisory Board that since July 1, 2017, they are entitled to a \$50.00 per diem payment for attending meetings, if they are not employed by the Commonwealth.

# NEXT SCHEDULED MEETING

June 8, 2018 @ 1 p.m.

# ADJOURNMENT

The meeting of the Advisory Board adjourned at 2:16 p.m.

Jonathan Clark, Chair

William Harp, Executive Director

Denise W. Mason, Licensing Specialist